Lewandowski beats Messi to The Best FIFA award

Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski equalled Cristiano Ronaldo’s FIFA The Best record when he won the award for a second time on Monday. The Bayern Munich forward retained his FIFA The Best award following an incredible campaign in which he scored a Bundesliga record 41 goals, fighting off competition from Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah.

Paris Saint-Germain forward Lionel Messi, the 2019 winner, failed to add to his 2021 Ballon d’Or award as he finished second, with Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah in third place. Barcelona midfielder Alexia Putellas won the women’s award. Chelsea manager Thomas Tuchel beat Italy’s Roberto Mancini and Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola to win the Manager of the Year award following success in the Champions League in 2021.